Daily Prompt : 25-7

Twenty-Five Seven

Good news — another hour has just been added to every 24-hour day (don’t ask us how. We have powers). How do you use those extra sixty minutes?

simple-clock

Woah.. It sounds great when you hear that you’re getting an extra hour a day. However, when you actually think of it, it wouldn’t make much difference. I’d still struggle finishing homework and test studies. I’d still sleep late and have only 4-5 hours of sleep. I’d still get on the taxi in the morning with wet hair.

Ideally, I’d use the extra hour to enjoy my hobbies during the busy weekdays of school. I’d read dystopian novels – my favorite book genre, watch my favorite TV shows, talk to my friends more, and exercise! I’d also spend more time and effort in my homework and projects because nowadays, I rush them at night or do them the next morning at school. However, I know I won’t put all of these into practice when I’m actually given an extra hour a day. I’d still spend time doing purposeless things such as reading Facebook News Feeds of people I barely know, staring at YouTube videos, and reading meaningless celebrity gossips. Only the time I spend to do unproductive things will increase because I can never get enough of them. They are so fun and once I fall into one of those activities, I cannot get out of it unless I feel how seriously less time I have left time to do my homework or, of course, unless there’s my mother’s intervention.

This actually got me thinking and look back at myself for complaining about having too much work to do everyday when many of my time is wasted in meaningless things I do everyday. I should really start spending time meaningfully because sleeping only a few hours a day have settled as my daily routine already and I know it’s bad. Help me Lord to sleep more!

Leave a Reply

