Daily Prompt : Fourth Wall

Fourth Wall

You get to spend a day inside your favorite movie. Tell us which one it is — and what happens to you while you’re there.

One of my favorite movies is The Hunger Games. It’s originally a book where one girl and one boy of ages between 12 and 18 from each of the 12 districts are selected to participate in a survival game which only ends when only one participant is left alive. This game’s purpose is to entertain the people of the Capitol and also to remind the districts that they are always under the control of the Capitol. These games are designed by the Gamemakers and they create dramatic situations to make the Hunger Game more interesting to watch.

http://www.panempropaganda.com/storage/dvd-blu-ray-images/capitolcostumecompetition-uk-release/Effies%20at%20Maryleborne%201.jpg?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION=1395003550460

Now, what I want to be in the movie is one of the people of the Capitol. I want to be in the perspective of a rich and ignorant Capitol citizen who thinks it’s normal to watch a game killing people. I have two scenarios in my mind right now. One is just watching the Hunger Games on my television with my other Capitol friends eating popcorn (possibly a super luxury and high quality popcorn) on a super high-tech sofa. I’d cheer for my favorite player and sometimes sob when someone tragedically dies just like watching a sad movie.

Another scenario I have in mind is trying to convince people and start an uprising among the Capitol citizens to stop the Hunger Games because the game is too brutal. I’d start telling people how violent and uncivilized this game is and start doubting whether President Snow’s rule is good for the poeple. I am the citizen of the Capitol so I won’t be harmed by the Gamemakers or President Snow’s soldiers so easily. I could start campaigns to not watch the Hunger Games because the game won’t have any purpose if no one is watching it. Then, I might actually end the long history of calamity of the districts and be a hero instead of Katniss Everdeen!

Leave a Reply

