Daily Prompt : Under the Snow

Under the Snow

You were caught in an avalanche. To be rescued, you need to make it through the night. What thought(s) would give you the strength to go through such a scary, dangerous situation?

Caught in an avalanche?!! I’d be terrified! Firstly, it would be magnificently cold – so cold that you don’t even want to breathe because your nostrils sting of the cold, freezing air. I’ve not met snow a lot of times since I lived in Thailand for over 10 years. The last time I’ve seen snow was few years back when I visited my grandma in Korea, South, of course (many people actually ask me this), so imagine how vulnerable I am to the freezing weather. Secondly, I’d lose hope quickly. I wouldn’t even have any idea of the current situation outside. Would people be looking for me now? Is the snow storm too fierce to go on with the search? Do the people even know I’m missing and currently stuck in an avalanche? All these questions I don’t have an answer to will leave me very nervous and devastated. I’d have no clue at all. Silence would be so cruel and I’d lose hope eventually. I’d be worried if anyone will ever find me and if they do, will I still be alive or would I be found as a cold corpse. *Shivers*

What thoughts might give me the strength to go through such a scary, dangerous situation? I don’t know.. Maybe my fear of dying might keep me alive? I think the hope of being able to be rescued the next day will give me strength to endure the cold and fear. I’d tell myself morning is coming, the night is almost over. Also, very importantly, the images of my family and friends would glimmer. Thinking about people I love, how much they would be sad and devastated if I couldn’t survive  the avalanche would make me do my best with full power to stay alive. How wasted would my life be if I died after all the education, knowledge and life experience I’ve learnt and built up without even fully living the life yet?

Leave a Reply

