Daily Prompt : Sweet Little Lies

Sweet Little Lies

As kids, we’re told, time and again, that lying is wrong. Do you believe that’s always true? In your book, are there any exceptions?

First of all, I lie every day. It is for small and big reasons, so if you ask me if lying is always wrong, I’d say no. Note the italics I used for the word “always”. I admit that the reason I lie most of the time is for my own benefit and comfort. However, there are times I lie so the other person will feel better and comfortable with me, so in my book, there are exception.

Life can be so much easier with lies. I’ve confirmed it when I read the book Divergent (first book of the Divergent series) by Veronica Roth and Extras (last book of the Uglies series) by Scott Westerfeld. In the book Divergent, there is a factor called Candor and they do not lie, ever. They are the people who believe honesty is the most important element in a human. With honesty, they believe the world will be a perfect place. However, when they meet others, they are easily hated because they make unnecessary unpleasant situations with their honesty. I don’t quite remember but they say something like “You lack knowledge” or “You’re ugly” because they were raised to speak of truth. Therefore, I do believe sweet little lies are necessary for amicable social activities. In the book Extras, there is a character that gets an injection of a potion that makes you speak only the truth at all times. He did this because he believed he was too weak to speak the truth with his own willpower. He has good intentions, but he gets his friends in danger because he cannot keep secrets. When he and his friends were caught in an enemy’s spaceship, he couldn’t keep the truth to himself and confesses that he and his friends are here to stop them from their mission while his friends were lying to the enemies. This example was a bit exaggerated, but it is important to keep secret and there are times you have to say “I don’t know” when you do know!

Leave a Reply

