Daily Prompt : Not for Thee

Not for Thee

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received that you wouldn’t give to anyone else? Why don’t you think it would apply to others?

(Thanks for inspiring this prompt with your suggestion, glitterweaver!)

This is not an advice I’ve received from someone. I came up with this myself.

I study better at midnight when no one is awake. It’s a better study plan for me to sleep during day time after school and wake up to study for the finals until the next day, but I don’t give this advice to others. It would be bad for their health for one. I heard that 10 PM to 4 AM is the time when cells rejuvenate but if you’re not asleep during that period of time and using your energy, it is less likely for the cells to actively rejuvenate. (I’m not 100% sure with this fact. Maybe some people made it up so kids sleep on time.) Also, it can make people very sleepy while taking the exams, which is very, very bad. I don’t think my method of studying is worth the risk of falling asleep during the exam.

Another reason why I’m so discouraged to share my way of studying is that every studying blogs or articles stress on how bad it is to study at midnight. I just met this article just now telling me how bad it is to wait until 10 or 11 PM and study after midnight while searching for the picture of studying at midnight. I’ll show you an excerpt of the article.

Bad Habit #4: Studying After Midnight

Do you frequently study well past midnight? If so, and again, I say this with all discretion, then you’re an idiot. But you’re also in good company. A surprisingly large percentage of college students think the proper way to review is to wait until 10 or 11, then push through until 3 or 4. This terrible on so many levels I don’t know where to begin. So let me just sample a few high points from the abundant terribleness. First: you can’t concentrate in the middle of the night. Second: staying up that late screws you up the next day, you get sick, you can’t focus, you need naps, class becomes an ordeal, your health and fitness decrease. And so on. Work early, in small concentrated chunks. Get your work done well and fast, and leave your nights for relaxation and, dare I say it, sleep.

There, it explains all the reasons why you shouldn’t follow my advise, or why I shouldn’t give my advise to anyone.

Leave a Reply

